Institute of Crystallography - CNR

Measurement of the neutron-induced fission cross section of Th 230 at the CERN n_TOF facility

The neutron-induced fission cross section of Th230 has been measured at the neutron time-of-flight facility n_TOF located at CERN. The experiment was performed at the experimental area EAR-1 with a neutron flight path of 185 m, using Micromegas detectors for the detection of the fission fragments. The Th230(n,f) cross section was determined relative to the U235(n,f) one, covering the energy range from the fission threshold up to 400 MeV. The results from the present work are compared with existing cross-section datasets and the observed discrepancies are discussed and analyzed. Finally, using the code empire 3.2.3 a theoretical study, based on the statistical model, was performed leading to a satisfactory reproduction of the experimental results with the proper tuning of the respective parameters, while for incident neutron energy beyond 200 MeV the fission of Th230 was described by Monte Carlo simulations.

Physical review. C, Nuclear physics (CD-ROM)
Impact factor
V. Michalopoulou , 1,2,* A. Stamatopoulos, 1 M. Diakaki, 1 A. Tsinganis,2,3 R. Vlastou, 1 M. Kokkoris, 1 N. Patronis,4 Z. Eleme,4 D. Macina, 2 L. Tassan-Got,2,1,5 N. Colonna, 6 E. Chiaveri, 2 A. Ventura,7 P. Schillebeeckx, 3 J. Heyse,3 G. Sibbens, 3 G. Alaerts, 3 A. Borella, 8 A. Moens, 3 D. Vanleeuw, 3 O. Aberle, 9 V. Alcayne,10 S. Amaducci, 11,12 J. Andrzejewski,13 L. Audouin,5 V. Babiano-Suarez, 14 M. Bacak,2,15,16 M. Barbagallo, 2,17 S. Bennett,18 E. Berthoumieux,16 J. Billowes,18 D. Bosnar,19 A. Brown, 20 M. Busso, 21,22 M. Caamaño, 23 L. Caballero, 14 F. Calviño,24 M. Calviani, 2 D. Cano-Ott,10 A. Casanovas,24 F. Cerutti, 2 G. Cortés, 24 M. A. Cortés-Giraldo, 25 L. Cosentino,11 S. Cristallo, 21,26 L. A. Damone, 17,27 P. J. Davies, 18 M. Dietz,28 C. Domingo-Pardo,14 R. Dressler, 29 Q. Ducasse, 30 E. Dupont, 16 I. Durán,23 B. Fernández-Domínguez, 23 A. Ferrari,2 P. Finocchiaro,11 V. Furman,31 K. Göbel, 32 R. Garg, 28 A. Gawlik-Rami ?ega, 13 S. Gilardoni, 2 I. F. Gonçalves,33 E. González-Romero,10 C. Guerrero, 25 F. Gunsing,16 H. Harada, 34 S. Heinitz, 29 D. G. Jenkins,20 A. Junghans, 35 F. Käppeler, 36,+ Y. Kadi, 2 A. Kimura, 34 I. Knapová, 37 Y. Kopatch , 31 M. Krti?cka, 37 D. Kurtulgil, 32 I. Ladarescu,14 C. Lederer-Woods, 28 H. Leeb, 15 J. Lerendegui-Marco, 25 S. J. Lonsdale,28 A. Manna,7,38 T. Martínez, 10 A. Masi, 2 C. Massimi, 7,38 P. Mastinu,39 M. Mastromarco,2 E. A. Maugeri,29 A. Mazzone, 17,40 E. Mendoza,10 A. Mengoni,41 P. M. Milazzo, 42 F. Mingrone, 2 J. Moreno-Soto,16 A. Musumarra,11,12 A. Negret, 43 R. Nolte, 30 F. Ogállar,44 A. Oprea,43 A. Pavlik, 45 J. Perkowski, 13 C. Petrone, 43 L. Piersanti, 21,26 E. Pirovano, 30 I. Porras,44 J. Praena,44 J. M. Quesada,25 D. Ramos-Doval,5 T. Rauscher, 46,47 R. Reifarth,32 D. Rochman, 29 Y. Romanets,33 C. Rubbia,2 M. Sabaté-Gilarte,25,2 A. Saxena, 48 D. Schumann, 29 A. Sekhar,18 A. G. Smith, 18 N. V. Sosnin,18 P. Sprung, 29 G. Tagliente,17 J. L. Tain, 14 A. Tarifeño-Saldivia,24 Th. Thomas,32 P. Torres-Sánchez,44 J. Ulrich, 29 S. Urlass, 35,2 S. Valenta,37 G. Vannini, 7,38 V. Variale, 17 P. Vaz, 33 D. Vescovi,21 V. Vlachoudis,2 A. Wallner, 49 P. J. Woods,28 T. Wright, 18 and P. ?ugec 19
Authors IC CNR
not specified